Day 77

Me: "What advice would you give to your younger self?

Stephanie: "Please put everything in perspective. The things that you think are vitally important are not that important in the grand scheme of things. When I was in high school, not getting into a play or not getting cast in a show was the end-all, be-all. That's all I wanted. And I remember talking to a teacher about it and saying what am I going to do if I can't do this and he said feed the hungry, clothe the naked. I was 13-14 years old and I couldn't comprehend that then, but now I do. If I give a bad performance, I feel bad, and I beat myself up, but that's why I say – if nobody died and noone got hurt, that's a good day. If you can get out of bed and do more good than harm in the world, that's a good day. And my definition of a good day has changed from when I was younger because of that. You meet people and you see what they go through, and you put your own life in perspective, and everyone's got problems. And everyone's problems are legitimate. You know we talk about first world problems, but to that person, it gives them stress. So I try to cut them a break, and say their shit is legit. But that said, I try, I don't always succeed, but I try to put my own life in perspective and relative to how much worse it could be. I have had that summer I was working at Burger King, and that summer I was working in the shirt factory, the fact that I don't have to do that now, I know that I am very lucky. And I thank the Universe daily for that and I know that the things that I have can go away, the luck that I have can go away. So again, try to put it in perspective."

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

