Day 69

Me: "What advice would you give to your younger self?"

Sana: "When you're in college, explore things a little bit more. I come from a family of doctors, so I knew everything about going to a medical school, but I didn't know anything about going to an engineering school. I didn't know what I would do after I got out. I didn't know what banking or investment banking was or anything like that. And then when it was time to pick a major, I just talked to people and they pretty much told me  you're going to do this and I just followed that path. In my last years, I started taking management classes,  brain and cognitive sciences, and I realized I was way more interested in that. So everyday I still think about what if? I still think that maybe I should do a startup on the side that is more aligned towards my interests, but I am still sticking to the same path because later in life, you can't really switch around as much. You're thinking about starting a family, you've more responsibility. I take care of my mom as well, so I need the financial stability. I got offers from startups, but never took them up, because it was too risky. I need to be financially secure for my family. The time to explore, the time to think about different things is when you're younger. Especially when you come from the kind of education background I come from, you're on a straight path and you need to know out of high school what you're going to do and that is not the American education system. So I'd tell my younger self to go explore and see what's out there and think about what you want to do. It's not like I don't like what I do…it is fun, but I am a different person from what I am doing. It's like I am living two lives. "

One thought on “Day 69

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

